Skip to main content
Donate Now

PBS39’s ‘Counter Culture’ , Megan Frank win 2021 Mid-Atlantic Regional Emmy® Awards

Email share

BETHLEHEM, PA. - September 26, 2021 - On Saturday night, the 2021 Mid-Atlantic Regional Emmy® Awards were presented, as PBS39 brought home  The PBS39 original program Counter Culture, hosted by Grover Silcox, won a Mid-Atlantic Regional Emmy® award in the category of Interview/Discussion. Megan Frank took home the award for Writer (NASA: The Future Is Female) This annual event honors excellence in television news, programming and achievement in Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Delaware and parts of Ohio and West Virginia. This year's ceremony, which was the 39th edition, was held virtually. As part of the ceremony, PBS39’s Jessica Lee was also inducted into the prestigious Silver Circle Society.

Counter Culture, weekly talk show set at the counter of Daddypops Diner in Hatboro, Pennsylvania, welcomed artists, authors, comics, singers, historians and others to talk about their passions. Along with host Grover Silcox team members recognized for this achievement include:Jacob Boyer (Director), Yoni Greenbaum (Executive Producer), Jeffrey Frederick (Studio Camera Operator), Eric Werner (Studio Camera Operator), April Maddona (Editor), Jessica Lee (Graphics), Charles Serra (Audio), Zach Wisneskie (Engineer), Jacob Morris (Engineer), Javier Diaz. (Director of Production)

NASA: The Future is Female, a virtual presentation hosted and written by Megan Frank, provided an opportunity for viewers to meet the women powering NASA's mission to put the first woman on the moon. Guests included: Former astronaut and Lehigh University professor Terry Hart, rocket engineer Casey Hoffman of Pittsburgh's Astrobotic Technology and Karen Knecht, Director of Education from the DaVinci Science Center in Allentown.

The evening of recognition continued for Jessica Lee, Director of Multimedia Design,  as the Mid-Atlantic Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences inducted her and five other other television professionals into the Silver Circle Society. This honor society recognizes significant contributions by individuals in the broadcast industry for 25 years or more.

The presentation of the Emmy® Awards is intended to serve as an incentive for the ongoing pursuit of excellence for those working in the television industry and to focus public attention on outstanding cultural, educational, technological, entertainment and news achievements in television. This year’s show was generously sponsored by TUTV- Temple University Television in association with the Kal and Lucille Rudman Foundation.